Why we do what we do

Image

Farming and ranching to me is working with the land. God only makes it once. We have to be careful to take care of it right. I enjoy making those daily decisions that make me a truly “hands on” environmentalist. I get joy and satisfaction of the fact that through years of trial and error US farmers and ranchers do a better job of creating food and caring for the land simultaneously. I face the daily challenges that our climate and mother nature knowing that my past generations not only survived but thrived and I can too. They survived Dust bowls, blizzards, floods and tornadoes and taught us we could raise families and make a living here.

Far greater than any of these rewards though is watching the next generation growing up respecting the land. I feel this quote from Jerry Apps summarizes my feelings best; “Family farm children learn respect. Respect for animals, for weather, for their elders. And above all, respect for the land.”

About Beer Ranch

I'm a farm/ranch wife and mother of 4. I've lived all my life on a farm caring for Angus cows. Currently we raise cattle and a variety of crops including wheat, corn, sunflowers, millet and peas. It is a great life and great way to raise children. We live and learn everyday about the world God has made for us. We try to find better ways of taking care of the land while raising food for people.
This entry was posted in farm family, Farming, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

